DIY: Scarf Frame

So I recently purchased this huge scarf that is amazing (check it out here). When I got it, it was so pretty that I really did want to wear it – all I wanted to do was look at it. I got to thinking – is there an affordable way to mount my scarf myself, something preferably classier than thumbtacks?

via Sadie + Stella
via Sadie + Stella

I started out my search and was immeadietly overwhelmed with the amount of beautiful Hermes scarves that people seem to have professionally framed. Granted, it I were to pay $600 for a scarf, a guess another $300 to frame it doesn’t seem that  bad.

via Decorista Daydreams
via Decorista Daydreams

Such sophisticated, expensive beauty.

via Elements of Style
via Elements of Style

Though I spent quite a while lusting after these scarves, and imagining what life would be like if I could drop that kind of money on accessories, I had a more urgent task at hand. Since professional large scale framing was out, what could I feasibly accomplish.

via Marcus Design Inc
via Marcus Design Inc

Seeing this image of a series of similar scarves together reminded me of diptychs and triptychs in art, particularly maps that have been salvaged by separating pieces and framing them in different frames and then assembling the pieces “together” in a series. I supposed I could do that with my scarf – but I couldn’t handle  thought of cutting it up.

via Honey and Fitz
via Honey and Fitz

Lastly I found this tutorial for a relatively cheap way to “frame” your scarf between two pieces of acrylic and strong bolts. I instantly loved it (in part due to my obsession with lucite…you’ll see). I’m struggling pulling the trigger though – has anyone done attempted a similar project? Any recommendations? Help a girl out with her dreams of fashionably putting a scarf  on her wall.

Leave a Reply

